Two Months


Wow! Our “little” guy is two months old today. It’s funny, it almost seems longer because I really can’t remember life before him now. We had our well baby visit today. Robert is 24″ long, 16 pounds, 1 ounce and has a head circumference of 16.5″… he is in the 95th percentile, except his weight is a little higher… like around 102%… my little overachiever. Developmentally he’s doing awesome. Great tracking. Good focus on face. Can lift his head almost 90 degrees. Doc said we’ve got a happy, healthy boy. He also said he thinks he’s going to be tall – around 6’2″ or 6’3″. I’m just so thankful he’s healthy! He got five shots today… he screamed louder than I’ve ever heard him but settled right down after I picked him up. He’s a bit sluggish and clingy tonight. They said he’d sleep good, we’ll see. He’s down right now but he’s been making noises.

My Mom got this sweater for him after I told her about it. My Dad was really into racing so it makes it a special thing to me… kind of a connection between Robert and Pa Thompson. I so wish my Dad could have seen him.

I was at a Christmas party last night when one of the women who lives in the same retirement community as my grandma came over and asked me how my grandma was doing. I had been trying to call her for a few weeks but never got an answer, which isn’t unusual and she doesn’t have a machine. Apparently she’s been in the hospital. I called my aunt to find out what was going on. Yes, grandma was in the hospital all last week… Monday through Friday. She had a stone in her bile duct and they removed it… I’m not sure if this was surgical or laser or if it just passed. She’s now in the assisted living part of the facility because she’s too weak to go back to her apartment but hopefully she’ll only be there another week. WTF??? And nobody called me… in 10 days??? That really pissed me off. I have no idea why they didn’t call me. Sometimes I think my aunt just forgets I exist… remember me, I’m the one with the baby who visited a few weeks ago??? I don’t know if she thinks I’ll second guess her authority or what, I won’t. I respect that she’s in charge of Grandma’s care and commend her for doing so much for her. I told her I’d go see Grandma Saturday. Now it looks like they’re calling for 3-6 inches of snow between now and Saturday so we’ll have to see. Jim’s leaves town on Sunday and won’t be back until Wednesday. Thursday night I have a late work meeting so if I don’t make it Saturday it will probably be another week before I get there. Ugh.

I was planning on doing some shopping on my own Saturday but now I’m wondering if I should take Jim and Robert and we’ll go shop Johnson County when we’re done at grandmas. If it’s too cold we could hit the indoor outlet mall or Oak Park Mall. I’m not really sure what I’m shopping for at this point. I know we need gift cards for the Nebraska nieces and nephews so we can get those in the mail. Donald and Erika are done. Mom is done. I need to finish making Ann’s gift. Robert still needs his Snoopy. I need to pick up the coffee/cappuccino machine for Jim – will try to do that tomorrow on the way home if the weather isn’t getting bad. I need gift bags for teacher/co-worker gifts. Tomorrow night I’ll pick up the Christmas card photos so I can get those all put together and addressed and in the mail Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

