January 3. 2008


My MIL died this morning. BIL is being a real ass so my husband was not notified at 6:00am when it happened. Instead, BIL left a message on our home phone at 8:30am – we had both left for the day. Apparently he called SIL at 6:00am and at noon she decided she needed to talk to her older brother. She had no idea he didn’t know. He called me and I grabbed Tank and came home. I’m bracing myself for what will probably wind up being an episode of the Jerry Springer Show. Dysfunction at its best as the “family” gathers for one last time. The last family funeral was so much fun for me I’m really looking forward to this one :::eye roll:::. All I can do is comfort my husband, tell him to remember the good and let the rest go and to remember that he is a good man.

Thank God my best friend is still in town. She extended her stay until Tuesday so she will come here Saturday and stay with Tank during the funeral. That way if Jim wants him at the bereavement dinner (if there is one… we haven’t been told any specifics yet) he will be nearby and we can get him picked up. I know Renee probably had something fun planned for Saturday but when I called she said she wasn’t doing anything… that’s a great friend.

My daily something today is the mirror that hangs in our entryway. We found it at Pier 1 and loved it. Didn’t hurt that it was on sale — I love a bargain πŸ™‚ It’s the last thing I look in before I leave the house. I hope I can always be content with the person staring back at me when I look in it and knowledgeable that I’m being the best person I can.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “January 3. 2008

  1. MNScrapbookmom

    Found your blog through another. πŸ™‚ Your blog is wonderful… Love all the photos of your little guy. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year… I will be sure to check back. Β₯

Leave a Reply

