At Our Best


This is us at our best. Our night time routine as many nights a week as we can manage it. It’s about 8:30pm at the Wright house. Everything that needs to be done that night – bottles ready for preschool, clothing laid out, chores done, etc. has happened and it’s time for Robert’s night time bottle. The adults have their choice “feed” or “read”, Jim always chooses “feed”. We pick out a book and pile down on the couch. I read the story, Robert has his bottle. When we’re finished he drifts off to sleep and we both carry him down the hall to put him in his crib and admire what a handsome boy he is. We are a Norman Rockwell portrait. It is my favorite time of the day. I wish I could say it happens every night but occasionally life gets in the way. But I know I sleep better on the nights it happens.

Tomorrow we are celebrating our little boy big time. He will be three months old. There are 22 confirmed for his dedication at church, we will fill over two rows. Then at least 19 are headed to my aunt’s house to have a great meal and play pass the baby. Robert will be held and cuddled and kissed and hopefully know how much he is loved. Among the guests are both the men he is named after, Terry Robert Murphy (my adopted brother who apprenticed under my dad) and Gregory Charles Barstow (another pipefitter), my mom, niece and nephew, my aunt and uncle and other family friends.

Robert’s cold was better today. He is still a bit punky but had his wits about him enough to flash his grandma the biggest smile this morning. He also was all smiles and giggles this afternoon when I was trying to get him to nap so that I could also. We did make it out to find an outfit for him this afternoon. The store we went to had everything 60% off. I could have done a lot more damage than the $33 I spent but he was a bit fussy so I knew we needed to get on our way.

Now, I need to get some sleep. I’m getting his cold and I don’t want to be sick tomorrow so I’m sipping some hot tea and pushing the vitamins.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “At Our Best

  1. MNScrapbookmom

    Love this photo… the fact that Robert seems to be looking toward you… aww.. Perfection !!! πŸ™‚ Such great parents you are. πŸ™‚ Β₯

Leave a Reply

