It’s Working

When I found out I was pregnant I toyed with the idea of whether or not I was going to work or stay home. I didn’t work for 5 months of the pregnancy because of medical stuff and once I started feeling better I knew I had to get back to work. I love what I do for a living. I meet the most wonderful people. I help fund important services for people who need them. I’m good at what I do and I enjoy it. But then I had Mommy guilt. Is it OK to have a career and a child. We could afford for me to stay home. But that’s about all I’d be doing. No lunches out. No shopping. No vacations.

Luckily for me I found a job that has on-site preschool. Robert literally goes to work with me everyday. I drop him off at the preschool and I go downstairs to my office. Most days I pick him up around 4 and bring him to my office so my boss can spoil him while I wrap up my day. If I’m worried about him or want to see him I just have to run upstairs. The days after he was in the hospital I wanted him near me I simply took his bouncy seat and a blanket to my office and he hung out there all day.

Today I was in the preschool taking pictures of the teachers and this is what I found. My boy, bouncing and smiling, happy as a clam. This picture shows, its’ working. I’m so lucky to have the best of both worlds. I sent this picture to Jim tonight. He’s in Lincoln to do a training and I know how much he hates being away from us. He was going out to dinner with his sister and her husband. I hope they have a good time.

I’m getting ready to roll over and finish watching the Real Housewives tell all. I’m just shaking my head. The weather was in the 40s when I woke up and in the 20s by the time I got to work… INSANE!! On the way home it had dropped to 13. I seriously hate when Mother Nature forgets to take her lithium and we have to put up with her bi-polar mood swings.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

