Weekend Fun






Jim is recovering well from his recent surgery. He learned (the hard way) don’t compare a vasectomy to a c-section… you won’t win.

Saturday Northland Animal Welfare Society was having a dog wash so we took Harley. She loved all the attention and we got to try a Furminator brush. I had seen them in the store but the $60 plus price tag scared me off… no more, I will have one! It was amazing the amount of fur we got off of Harley in a very short amount of time. We also found out that Harley won the gift basket they were giving away which included a stuffed Moose that she loves. The moose has a squeaker in it so Robert will dance when she makes it squeak.

After we dropped Harley back at home we headed out the the Great Lenexa BBQ Contest. We walked around for a bit, had some lunch, ran into some people Jim knows. Robert was wearing his safari hat which is always popular with the crowds. He’s so cute in it and he is at that stage where he smiles back and waves at people, quite the little charmer.

Last night he discovered a five iron that has been sitting by the wine bar for as long as I can remember. Why it was there I had no idea. Anyway, he thought it was the coolest thing ever and crawled all around the house with it until we decided it’s probably not the best thing for him to have.

Today we shopped for wedding clothes. A kid I used to babysit is getting married. He’s such an adorable guy. We needed sandals to go with Robert’s white linen short suit that my Mom got him and I needed something to wear. We found the sandals for him at Baby Gap… for $6.00! Yeah! He also got a new Hawaiian shirt at The Children’s Place. Jim and I put an outfit together for me at Coldwater Creek. He was so excited when I said I’d consider a skirt, which is what I wound up with. Now all I have to do is find shoes. Maybe I can run out tomorrow night.

The washing machine is broken again. I’m really not happy with the “repair’ guy who came last time but we’re stuck with them again until it’s fixed. It’s covered under our home owner’s warranty so they have until tomorrow morning to call us. Hopefully they can get here by Wednesday because I really don’t want to go to the laundrymat. Luckily one of the loads I got done was all of Robert’s clothes and the other one was underwear.

Even though there is a total fireworks ban in Kansas City meaning there is nothing that is legal to shoot off, neighbors all around us are already shooting stuff off at night. This is driving little Miss Harley absolutely mad as she tries to “protect” her yard and family. I wouldn’t mind so much if they’d do it just on the 4th and maybe the 5th but having to put up with it for over a week, every night, when it’s illegal to begin with is starting to grate on my nerves and we’re only about 4 nights in to it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Weekend Fun

  1. MNScrapbookmom

    Washing machine blues… 😦 Sorry to hear that.

    Fireworks that fly into the air are illegal here – so you can have just popping ones. Which means everyone lights firecrackers every night. The laws do not seem to stop anyone from getting the ones that fly through the air either. Every night there are fireworks of some kind going off.

    I really disliked it when I had a little people to get to sleep. Now, my kids sleep through anything.

    Hope the upcoming wedding is beautiful. Can’t wait to see photos. ¥

  2. MNScrapbookmom

    P.S. that hat is awesome !!! ¥

Leave a Reply

