What A Day!

We had a hell of a day today.  We got up early and everyone (including the dog) loaded in to the Jeep and we headed to Woof Stock… a festival for dogs and their people.  We hung around there for a while and Harley really enjoyed being out.  When we got home I rested for a bit and then it was time to start getting everything ready for our afternoon photo shoot for Robert’s 18 month pictures.

I had just come back into the living room after getting everyone’s outfits pressed when I heard a woman screaming and looked out the window to see a truck flying by with a woman seemingly trying to climb out of the bed.  Jim went out the front door and there was a 13 year old boy in our front yard crying, he’s taking my Mom.

I was on the phone with 911 when another neighbor came up to say that he saw the guy hitting the woman.  We took the boy inside to wait for the police when his Mom called and wanted him to walk to where they were a few blocks away.  I convinced him to stay with us until the police came.  I called 911 again and they said officers were on the way. I stepped outside when I heard the sirens.  The officer passed our street and turned around.  A guy in a truck had stopped to talk to him.  Apparently the couple was now arguing in the block behind our house.  I told the officer we had her son at our house and he was wanting to leave so please send someone to get him as I could not detain him if he really decided to go.  We waited, and waited and waited.  Finally a white truck pulled into our street then turned around.  The boy told me “I think that’s psycho’s brother who is just as psycho as he is”.  A few minutes later the truck returned and the driver called to the boy to get in.  I told him I wasn’t comfortable with him taking the boy.  HE said that the mother and the officer told him to come get him and I needed to stay out of it and not make things any worse than they already were.  My hands were pretty much tied.  Regretfully I let the child go.  I did watch to make sure they turned on the proper road.  Then I got MAD.  I called the police station and asked to speak to someone in charge of officers.  I told him that I didn’t appreciate being hung out to dry on this and now possibly having a psycho neighbor angry and knowing exactly which house is mine.

Then I got ready for the photo shoot.  I was getting ready to head out the door when the responding officer rang our bell.  He gave me his side of the situation (turns out the woman is the psycho in the equation and they are both married… just not to each other… oh Lord!)  I explained to him that I had suspected it could be that she was the problem (since she was in the back of the truck – not where a “kidnapper” generally would put a victim) but that he sent someone to my house who I didn’t know from Adam’s lost ox who the child was obviously not comfortable going with and I didn’t know for sure at the time if it was the officer who had sent him or not.

So we get to the photo shoot.  I’m still on my last nerve from all the drama.  The boy we were dealing with was a real darling and I could tell that his impeccable manners came more out of fear than proper upbringing.  I hate to see any kid go through something like that.

Robert was on the move at the photo studio today and the photographer kept waiting for the perfect shot.  I kept wishing she’d just shoot because the second photo would be “the one”.  We did get a few keepers.  The family ones were not as great.  I looked horrible.  I had put my make up on in the car because we were running late and hadn’t realized that I didn’t have my make up brushes in the bag.  I also forgot to bring hair spray.  That made the fact that our appointment was pushed back 30 minutes a tad bit annoying.

Robert

Robert Surprise

Robert 2

 

Robert Beach 1

Honestly… Baby Gap should buy this shot!

 

Robert Beach Backwards

Robert Beach 2

 

family shot

Robert & Mommy

Robert & Daddy

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

