Ten on Tuesday

Happy Robert Square

This week’s Ten on Tuesday is inspired by some of the things Robert says… seriously folks I don’t know how he comes up with some of this but I need to document it.

1.  This morning he was being a little stinking and bouncing off of me, being a pest in general.  I asked him to stop it and he didn’t so I asked more sternly for him to stop it.  He looked me dead in the eye and said, “I going to cry now”.  I said, “OK”.  And he did, the most pitiful fake cry for about 4 minutes until he realized it was having no effect, then he was off to color.

2.  I asked him if he was hungry, “No, mama, not yet”.

3.  Not yet is a recurring theme with him.  The other day I asked if he was poopy and needed a diaper change.  He got this quizzical look on his face and said, “No mama, not yet, I not finished”.

4.  “HUGS!!!!”  This is shouted at the top of his lungs when he’s standing next to me on the couch with his arms outstretched… when I say “OK” he gives me the biggest, best hugs.. often repeated multiple times.

5.  “Ax cram mama”… which translates “Ice cream, mama”

6.  Today he had a business card and a crayon and he came up to me and said, “Chicken, fries, drinks… ok mama” and then started making marks on the card… he was taking my lunch order… now if he only knew how to cook it.

7.  He will repeat “Thank you” until he is told “You’re welcome”.   He says thank you almost every time he is given something, please is a little tougher for him to remember without being prompted.  He also says “welcome” after your say “thank you”  Last night we spent 30 minutes where he would hand me something from his kitchen…
Robert:  For you.
Me:  Thank you.
Robert:  Welcome

8.  He loves to grab his play tools and work on projects around the house.  His catch phrase is “I fix it!”  His other big phrase is “I clean up”… which generally does not include picking up his actual messes but we are working on that.  It does include running his toy vacuum, playing with the big vacuum, brooms, mops and dusters.  I’m not sure why we buy him toys anymore.

9.  When he wants us to take a bite of something or do something like color with him he will say “Try it”.

10.  He has started using his hand as a phone and will have random conversations throughout the day.  They always end with “Bye!  Love too”.

I am constantly amazed at how happy this little guy is.  I’m in awe of it.  A friend in Colorado who hasn’t met Robert in person but has watched him grow up in pictures said the other day on the phone, “He looks so happy, is he really that happy”.  That made me feel good.  He’s not perfect, he has his moments but they are few and far between.

I want to participate in this “challenge” with Heather Ann… and tomorrow is Wednesday so I better get to work figuring out a backdrop.  I have a few ideas… now if I can only get a cooperative subject!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

