Memorial Day Weekend Part Three

Thank goodness the weekend was only three days… I don’t know if I could have done a fourth!  We got up early on Monday and headed to Carrollton, MO where my Dad’s family is buried.  For several years he and I would make a day of going to Carrollton to decorate on Memorial Day and he was worried that after he was gone no one would do it… so I promised that I would.  It’s a long drive but I know it was important to him so we do it every year.

Luckily for me some wineries are now open on the way so we joke it is the annual cemetery/winery tour.  Our favorite is Baltimore Bend.  It is owned by some friends of my Mom and they were there this year.  They got to see Robert and he was fascinated by the banners they were hanging… and especially the drill they were using.  We tasted some wine and picked up a few bottles and then headed to the cemetery in Odessa where my Dad and brother are buried.

After that Robert was more than ready to be at “Granny’s house!!!!”  Mom had some snacks for us and we spent some time visiting and watching Robert.  We got out the croquet set and let him hit the balls around a bit.

Croquet 1

Croquet 2

Croquet 3
I love my Mom in the back ground watching him.

Croquet 4

Croquet 5

Croquet 6

Croquet 7

Mom made us a huge dinner of smoked pork chops, corn on the cob and pasta salad…. and of course hot dogs and cottage cheese for Robert.  Robert found a pair of slippers in Erika’s room and decided to try them out.

Slippers

I was absolutely wiped out when we got home so I curled up with a book.  I was asleep by 8:30pm and didn’t get up until 8:30am the next day.  Robert also slept all night in his own bed and slept in until 9am.  Yeah!!!  This week we have some house cleaning to do and I have an interview Friday night at 7pm.  A bit of an odd time but I’ll take it.  Next weekend there is the Prairie Village Art Festival and Old Shawnee Days so we’ve got a lot of free entertainment to choose from again.  I know Saturday or Sunday we will meet Aunt Barb & Uncle Ward for breakfast at Old Shawnee Days.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

