For the Love of Cow Bell

You seriously are not going to believe this.  My last post I blogged about getting the tickets to the Mayor’s Suite at the Mavericks game on Saturday night.  Well, Saturday night came and we slowly but surely met up with everyone in our group outside the arena and proceeded to the suite… which is really cool.  We were all getting settled in.  The City Councilman assigned to be our liaison for the night introduced himself and gave us the lay of the land (free soft drinks in the fridge, restocked throughout the night and free popcorn), coat closet, etc.)  It was about 10 minutes before the game started when in came the mayor… I was not expecting that but it was cool.  Then came his wife… who looked at our group like we were common squatters who had invaded their space.  I pointed out to a friend of mine we were at least squatters with tickets.  Our City Councilman assured us that it was fine.

Things proceeded.  Everyone was having a good time.  I stepped outside the suite for a bit leaving our cow bell on the back bar with my drink.  I came back, sat down with Robert and Jim and started watching the game.  Robert asked for his cow bell.  I asked the folks by the bar to pass it to me.  That’s when the Councilman told me that the Mayor’s Wife had put in in a seat.  So someone passed it to me and I didn’t think a thing of it.  She came back to the suite and took a seat behind us.  About 3/4 of the way through the first period the Mayor’s Wife caught on to the fact Robert had a cow bell (they sell them in the gift shop and we bought his at the last game we attended).  She immediately said that it was HER cow bell and wanted it back.  I tried to explain to her that I was told it was ours and that I had left it on the bar… she claimed it was hers and had been given to them at one of the first games of the season.  I noticed that she had her name written on her other (orange) cow bell and thought it was funny she didn’t have her name written on her black one.  But we just let her take it.  Luckily Robert was cool about it.  I was in SHOCK.  I mean, she literally took a fucking $5 cow bell from a three year old.  Not to mention, she accused me of stealing MY OWN COW BELL!!!  It was insane.  Later the City Councilman asked me what happened and I confirmed she now had the cow bell and was insisting it was hers.  He offered to send me his.  I told him the cow bell was not my issue but if she was to call my office on Monday and tell my boss I had stolen from her to please back me up.  He told me, and I quote, “Do not worry about it, she is a mess.”  Talk about awkward.  All night she blew hot and cold.  One minute she’d be really nice to me and the next she acted like she couldn’t believe I had the nerve to breathe in her space.  One of my friends who wasn’t aware of what had happened with the cow bell went down to the gift shop during the second period and bought her two year old daughter one.  After that Mayor’s Wife kept looking at her funny and made her so uncomfortable she finally left.  Way to go Mayor’s Wife… she was my one friend who actually lives and votes in your city.  The FUNNIEST though is at the end of the night Mayor’s Wife was like, “this was so much fun, we have to do it again sometime.”  Um, not if my life depended on it.  Luckily it seems I took the brunt of things so our guests were able to have a good time.  My friend Ernie knew what was going on and was laughing his ass off.  He owns a business in the town.  I explained everything to my boss this morning and he was appalled that she would take Robert’s bell.  He assured me that I did nothing wrong.  I did write two very nice handwritten thank you’s today.  One to the mayor and his wife for the tickets (obligatory) and one very sincere one to the City Councilman for making us feel welcome.

So, there you have it… Cow Bell Gate 2010. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

