Reverb10–December 9th

December 9 – Party

Prompt: Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans.

Wow… we don’t go to a lot of social gatherings.  We’re just not partying people I guess.  But the gathering that is most memorable from 2010 was our family Father’s Day Celebration.

My Aunt Barb and Uncle Ward never had children but they were the most awesome aunt and uncle ever.  My uncle came from a pretty fractured family and when he married my aunt he really embraced our close-knit, “we put the fun in dysfunctional” family.  He was the best son-in-law and brother-in-law anyone could ask for.  He has also been a lot like a father to me.  We knew that my Dad’s life was precarious and that it was highly likely he would not be alive to walk me down the aisle.  Dad and I had actually talked about if that day came, he would be honored for Ward to step into his place, and he did, and it was beautiful and perfect.  He and Robert have a special bond and he is the closest thing Robert has to a grandfather. 

This year for Father’s Day my Mom called me and said she wanted to do a Father’s Day brunch and surprise my uncle by honoring him for all the ways he has fathered our family.  Everyone but my uncle was in on it.  We had special gifts for him.  He was seated at the head of the table.  Mom had asked me to give a toast.  He was shocked when he found out what was happening and there wasn’t a dry eye at the table.  He was truly touched.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

