The Big Purge 2011

Coming soon to our driveway…

Jealous?  I knew you would be.  It’s major purge time at the Wright house.  Due to some unforeseen circumstances our vacation got cancelled. Actually it was a few unforeseen circumstances that individually we probably could have overcome but when they dog-piled on top of each other, the best thing to do was forego the big family summer va-cay.  But, Jim still has the week off… so he’s going to be home purging, fixing, tossing, cleaning.  Where will I be you ask?  Working… just my regular job instead of the “fun” at home stuff.  He has more vacation than I do so he agreed to do this so that when I’m off we’ll be able to do some actual fun family stuff.  Since we no longer have city bulk pick up some things have been piling up in the garage.  Stuff from when Jim’s Mom died over three years ago, a toilet we replaced, odd furniture and large things that have broken, carpet we took out of the bedroom.  Perhaps we’ll actually get to a point where I can put my Jeep in the garage… say it isn’t so!

Fourth of July weekend we’ll be cleaning out a storage unit I have had since before we got married.  It’s time.  It’s been time for years but it was just so convenient to forget about it.  We’re also picking up a full size bed we have at my Mom’s house for Robert while we’re out that way.  As an enticement, I ordered him this bedspread.  It wasn’t the super totally cool look I wanted but it will go with his current paint/wallpaper scheme and is a wee bit easier on the wallet right now.

Easy on the wallet is important right now because even as we speak I type, this is being delivered:

Zoomed: Whirlpool 25.1 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator (Color: White) ENERGY STAR

The storms the other night fried our poor old refrigerator.  It’s approximately 10 years old so I saw no need to call a repairman, it would just be tossing money down a rabbit hole at this point.  So, off to Lowe’s it was.  Found this on sale and they said they’d move up the delivery as an emergency delivery so I’d only be without a refrigerator one day instead of until Saturday.  I’m trying to keep a positive attitude about the substantial outlay of cash.  Our poor savings has taken an absolute beating this year.  I’m discouraged but also grateful.  It’s paid for, it’s mine, cash.  This is our third big hit cash wise this year (and not the largest hit of the three by far).  I know if another storm of life comes and we need money I do have generous family members willing to help.  Just like they know we’d help if the tables were turned.  In my job I see people every day for whom something like this would be the straw that broke the camel’s back and be the financial blow they couldn’t recover from.  We are so lucky that we are not anywhere near that point.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

