Labor Day Weekend

It wasn’t much of a restful weekend but we did manage to squeeze in some fun.  Friday night we introduced Robert to Chuck E. Cheese.  Of course, he doesn’t eat pizza so he ate fish sticks at home before we went and Jim and I ate pizza in shifts while Robert played games.  He LOVED the games.

CEC Monster TruckCEC Ride with Chuck 1

Saturday morning I had to go to the funeral of one of our volunteers at work.  She was 82 and a wonderful woman.  She always came by my desk to give me hugs on the days she worked.  After the service I went out to lunch with one of my co-workers.  It was after 1pm before I got home.  Robert really didn’t want to go anywhere so we stayed in the rest of the day.

Sunday morning I had to go work a shift at the parking lot at work collecting money for people parking to go to a local festival.  I worked with one of our board members who is hilarious once you get to know him.  Once again, I didn’t get home until 1-ish.  As you can see in the pictures above, Robert’s hair had gotten a bit out of control… but he hates haircuts.  I spent most of the afternoon suggesting he let me cut it.  He always declined.  So, I plugged the clippers in in the bathroom and had him come look… that sent him running to his room.  So, after I unlocked the door and let myself in I asked him if he wanted to go play the games at Chuck E. Cheeses… he said, “YES!”.  “Fine, you have to let Mommy cut your hair with the clippers and then we’ll go.”  “Clippers?  I love clippers!” as he ran to the bathroom.  Huh?  He hates clippers… little shit.  So, I buzzed him with Jim’s assistance and we headed out the Chuck E. Cheeses with my coupon in hand… 80 tokens for $15… same as what the hair cut costs after I way over tip the hair stylist due to his horrid behavior.

In the car on the way there he realized his hair was gone…

Hair Cut 1

Hair Cut 2

The games and rides were a huge hit once again.

CEC Horse 1CEC Horse 2CEC Horse 3

CEC Ride with Chuck2

He also discovered his love for air hockey (my favorite!)

AH1AH2AH3

AH4

Today we headed out to World’s of Fun and Robert was FINALLY tall enough to ride a big roller coaster.  The Spinning Dragon.  He loved almost every minute of it.  There were a few moments of concern on his face but for the most part he loved it and wanted to go again.

In other news.  My uncle is dating.  I found out about it a few weeks ago when I went to pick him up to go to the cemetery on my aunt’s birthday (which also happens to be the six month anniversary of her death).  Apparently he had told my Mom and my other aunt about a month before.  My head knows this is a good thing, blah, blah, blah.  My heart is not so ready.  Doesn’t help that he is never home when I call anymore.  I don’t leave messages because it’s never anything important… but it hurts that he doesn’t call me either.  I’m afraid that this could wind up tearing our family apart (he is an uncle by marriage technically).  I’m afraid that he is avoiding mourning by replacing.  I’m afraid this is hurting my mom and my aunt.  There are some family things coming up and I don’t know how they are going to go… namely Robert’s birthday party that is supposed to be at his house and the dedication of a swing at the children’s farm in my aunt’s memory.  Lord I hope he’s smart enough to not invite the girlfriend.  I need to talk to my aunt about this but she isn’t here… and I’m lost.  I don’t want to lose my uncle but I won’t stand against my mom and my aunt if push comes to shove.  Please, Jesus, don’t let him marry this woman.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

